Coco Quench is no Coconut Drink

“What’s this?!” I blurted out defiantly. It was my first expression when I tried this drink my wife gave me.

Is this the “in” thing when it comes to Coconut juice (the ones you see Madonna was drinking)? You’ve got to be kidding me.

Unfortunately, Tropicana’s Coco Quench doesn’t come even close in trying to taste like Coconut juice. It’s one of those drinks that tastes so awful that you go right to the label to see what the ingredients are. It’s that bad! The ingredients lists “Coconut Water, Reconstituted Coconut Water, Sugar, Sodium Metabisulfite”

I found out that “Reconstituted Coconut Water” or any reconstituted juice doesn’t contain any vitamins because it goes through a process called reduction. Water is greatly reduced so it can be transported easily where it will go through hydration process and be packed and sold. The problem in reduction is that it goes through fire and heat. This way, you lose a lot of the fruit’s nutrients. So the only nutrition I get from this is Sugar. Yech!

Now, Sodium Metabisulfite on the other hand is a preservative so the juice won’t easily expire. It’s artificial and it’s chemically made. Blech!

So what about the Coconut Water? I don’t know how much Coconut Water is put in but if you drink Coconut Juice – Coco Quench doesn’t come even close to the original. It’s like a bad crossover between cow’s milk and some gassy water.

Conclusion: If I’m going to use my PhP30.00 to buy Coconut Juice, I’d just buy the ones being sold in Malls where you can see ’em break it and serve you the real thing. By the way, if you’re going to buy Coconut Juice – better ask how long they’ve been in the container because Coconut Juice shouldn’t be aged more than four hours from the time it was taken out of the husk. You can tell this by the “acidic” taste and feel in your mouth.

Side Note: Pepsi Philippines, I don’t want to sound mean to your new product – and I know this is a good effort – but an August 2011 article made by Huffington Post suggests that Coconut Water health claims is not what it seems to be. My personal concern – if you heed this advice – is that you improve the taste if you want to mask the ingredients of the label. I am serious when I say, the taste is insulting to what real Coconut Juices tastes like. I’d be doing more disservice to our country’s Coconut Industry if I don’t tell you what this product should be in the first place.

23 thoughts on “Coco Quench is no Coconut Drink”

    1. Thanks. I do believe in giving an honest to goodness review because at the end of the day, I don’t want my Philippines-made product to be the world’s laughing stock in the end. Thanks for commenting.

  1. I agree with your post. I just bought a liter pack at Rustan’s Supermart and I am now regretting it. It tastes nothing like real coconut juice. It’s downright awful!

    NEVER AGAIN! I’d rather buy from street vendors who sell REAL COCONUTS at P25. May kasamang laman pa!

  2. Oh God. I agree with your post. I just bought a liter pack at Rustan’s Supermart and I am now regretting it. It tastes nothing like real coconut juice. It’s downright awful!

    NEVER AGAIN! I’d rather buy from street vendors who sell REAL COCONUTS at P25. May kasamang laman pa!

      1. 2 years later… it’s still on the shelves. I’m just laughing that it’s being marketed as “100% Real Coconut Juice with no preservatives.” Real coconut water/juice’s nutritional content is only good for 4 hours. Tropicana’s Coco Quench claims that the juice can last up to 8 months on the shelves. LOL. No preservatives, they say? Who are they fooling?

        I miss Lipa’s Young Coconut Water. THAT comes close to real coconuts. Now, I prefer Vita Coco… even if it sets me back about P10-15.

  3. I totally agree in this article. I just recently bought one (about 10 minutes ago) and it just tastes so bad like it’s all sugar and no coconut water. My money have just gone to waste. I’m never drinking this again!

  4. Who are you guys for them to listen to. The bottom line is always the majority and the profitability that matters.

    1. On the contrary, companies track blogs, articles, and other reactions by customers using Social Network. And companies who care about their brands react and I’ve received a lot of responses from Brand Managers and Marketing Managers promising to make their products/services more competitive. You should also remember that this blog is getting a lot of hits from other readers so word do get around and the affirming comments I’m receiving from others only boosts my point of view or otherwise.
      Do you blog? If you have an advocacy, you should write about it and help change what you think you cannot. Have a nice day, John.

  5. What you said about the product is true. I bought a liter of Coco Quench yesterday and I find its taste and smell awful. When I read the ingredients portion, I saw the word “reconstituted coconut water”. I am familiar with reconstituted milk since I am working in a dairy company but reconstituted coconut water really surprised me. I prefer imported brand of coconut juices like Tasco and Yeo. Tropicana should made a survey about their product.

    1. Well I hope they are listening because it’s not something we’re proud of so to speak.
      I hope they listen and improve the taste and smell of the drink they’re offering the public.

  6. i was able to taste this once (the small one) before but wasn’t able to recognize much the different taste compared to the real one..maybe bec. I haven’t been drinking so much of the real buko and i couldn’t recall.
    Recently, i have been needing to drink buko juice bec. Of my uti. One time, i couldn’t buy a real one, it was kinda late too so my husband bought a big one of this on his way home from work. When i drank it, i also said the same thing, this tastes far from the real thing! i really don’t believe that the real one can be packed and remain in pack for a looong time.

    Also, i have somewhat to say about the packaging of the big one. It sucks. The liquid spills out through the little holes in the lid. Really messy! Has anyone experienced this? My husband said that his officemate experiences the same thing.

    1. Tropicana isn’t the only one that has that different coconut taste. We wish Pepsi – makers of Tropicana – will listen. We’ll keep you posted. Thanks for commenting!

  7. Was looking for a substitute for fresh coconut juice because I was recently diagnosed with UTI. Can’t find any fresh buko juice near my place so I tried this; saw this at Family Mart. Tastes awful. :s I was pinching my nose while drinking this because I can’t stand the taste.

Leave a Reply

