Don't Blink 'cause you'll miss the updates

Blink: My First Digital Marketing Seminar

“Sarap ng weekend!” I exclaimed and here’s why.

Since February last year I’ve endeavored on a journey that will compliment my learning in marketing. The college course that students used to know back then and perhaps today is very much different from the ones that will be used tomorrow. Actually, tomorrow is already here and the technology and concepts that will serve as vehicles for brands and businesses are continually being developed and studied by a steady, growing number of curious marketers in the industry – including me.

I’m currently studying Certified Digital Marketing Program through Internet Mobile Marketing Association of the Philippines (IMMAP) – Atieneo – E-Learning Edge. The Triumvirate team that have pioneered and developed learning modules locally for students who are eager to learn Digital Marketing. I’m about to finish my 13-subject program and hopefully graduate this coming August 2013 (or so I heard). The program affirmed what I already know about Social Media and allowed me to discover new, different, and cool applications that catch people’s attention.

Logic Solutions CEO Itamar Gero gives delegates case studies to better understand what Affiliate Marketing is all about
Logic Solutions CEO Itamar Gero gives delegates case studies to better understand what Affiliate Marketing is all about

And Digital Marketing in a Blink: Great Ideas Worth Executing or “Blink” organized by Fiera de Manila Philippines (FMI) was my first DM seminar I attended that tied up all the ‘learnings’ I gathered studying Digital Marketing. It was held at the Asian Institute of Management in Makati City. The term BLINK was taken from Malcolm Gladwell‘s book, “Blink: the Power of thinking, without thinking”. It encapsulates the main idea behind FMI’s Digital Marketing seminar where everything happens in a whim or a spur of a second, a “blink”. And that’s why these Blink seminars are very important to the continued study of Digital Marketing because ideas zoom pass so many times and in so many ways that it should be studied fast. The Organizers promised that Blink seminars will happen either three times a year or even four times a year depending on intangible factors that evolve Digital Marketing as we know it.

Norelyn (back) intently listens to Media Contacts Philippines CEO Ed Mapa (foreground) answering delegates' questions
Norelyn (back) intently listens to Media Contacts Philippines CEO Ed Mapa (foreground) answering delegates’ questions

I couldn’t hide my excitement from Norelyn Babiera who even promised more explosive Blink seminars in months to come. In those two days, I learned how to enhance and practice my ideation and how to develop my story that will capture the brand’s message, essentially converting consumers into believers and in turn become the ‘evangelists’ of the brand it just got served. I also learned what Affiliate Programs are how Retarget Marketing can help recover potential customers who may have left your website. To top it all off, I realized how important and still much relevant Search Engine Optimization (SEO) and how inbound marketing is claiming more ground in getting more customers to Buy-In to the brand. Tof Salcedo, SEO expert, taught the concluding part of the two-day seminar. He and the rest of the subject matter experts armed delegates with tools who are ready to do crazy battles in executing creative campaigns to the benefit of the consumers looking for new things on the web.

Thank you Norelyn for inviting me and making this time one of the most memorable, dynamic, and most explosive experiences of my professional life as a marketer. This BLINK seminar will not go away for those of you who plan to attend it next time. The world of Digital Marketing is ever-evolving so if you’re looking to understand more how Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter revolutionized the way people connect then this seminar is for you. Just make sure you don’t blink your eyes because every second in BLINK will give you a ton of tools you can readily use to your advantage and be the effective Digital Marketer you can be that this country needs.

2 thoughts on “Blink: My First Digital Marketing Seminar”

  1. I share your learnings, Kris. The Featured Experts were all unselfish to share their wisdom and insights on each subject matter. Am burping, too. Haha! Am so filled with new and great ideas worth executing!

    1. More buffet of info! I can’t wait to execute these ideas after I digest ’em. Thanks, Norelyn. Thank you for visiting my blog.🙂 I can’t wait to follow yours too down the road.

Leave a Reply

