Protect yourself from erring service providers

I won my Case Versus a Service Provider

Protect yourself from erring service providers
Protect yourself from erring service providers

Who among you have tried to bring up a case against a manufacturer or a service provider but think it’s not all worth the fight?

I was facing a PhP16,000+ bill from a service provider of a brand name known well for their catchy vacuum cleaner jingle in the early 90s. Any way, I bought their washing machine in 2008. It was a durable machine, however, after the repair company diagnosed my appliance for repair they were asking for almost PhP17,000 after being silent since December 2012 when they took my appliance for diagnostics.

In between the stress of complaining there were much raised voices, frustration, and anxiety. I dared the service provider that I’ll haul them to the Department of Trade and Industry (DTI) for grievances about their poor service. They dared back. A week and a half later, a provider representative and I were face to face in front of a DTI Mediator after I submitted three cases against them via email that included documents/proof of my claim.

I won my case after I presented my experiences and the documents that nack up my claim. It almost got to the next hearing, where the DTI would’ve ruled my complaint. The brand representative didn’t like it and saw how their brand and their affiliate will lose the case.

By the way, I also asked the brand representative to review their service providers because this partner they have is not worth their customers’ trouble!

The brand representative recognized my position and acknowledged a lot of flaws on their accredited provider. The brand also knows that if I win, I will not just drag the name of the service provider down but including the brand’s name as well.

This experience with DTI just proves that if you have a case and you have all the proof with you, it’s likely you’ll win the case but don’t stop there. Make sure the company you brought over for complaint write you and guarantee a better service experience next time.

Leave a Reply

